The Eyes Have it

I looked around and what did I see?

A tax inspector coming after me

I checked his badge and was shocked to spot

He was employed by a company! What!

 

I looked around and what did I find

A doctor who wanted to mend my mind

I checked his badge and saw the light

He’s employed by Virgin – NHS blight

 

I looked around and what was there

A benefit checker coming out of his lair

I checked his badge and what a shocker

Self-employed bullyboy off his rocker

 

I looked to court to fight for my rights

I find a lawyer but what a fright

No legal aid coz I’m only the ‘poor’

No protection for me no sir no more

 

I looked to an election with my vote

My nodding MP such a good bloke

But then I find to my chagrin

He threw his promises in the bin

 

I looked to parliament to save our souls

They’re listening to us say the polls

But then I see the truth oh so plain

All counting the profit they did gain

 

I look around this green pleasant land

Built by many a calloused hand

England’s beauty now just skin deep

What happened to it? How long did I sleep?

 

I look around with wide open eyes

I’ve finally got it my world is just lies

I check for respect but none can be found

It’s buried with democracy under the ground

Leave a Reply

